All Testimonials in Chronological Order

Read what our customers have to write about our guiding services.

Images are hidden for faster viewing. Show Images

Return to our Return to Individual Testimonials

2015

Salmon River: 11/16/2015

When we first met with Joe he told us, “Relax boys, you’re with family now” and over the course of the weekend that turned out to be completely true. Joe is one of those people who after a few minutes of talking to him, it feels like you’ve been friends for years. His sense of humor kept us laughing all weekend. Another nice touch was that we had the honor of accompanying Hunter, Joe’s 15 week old chesapeake bay retriever puppy, on his first trip to the river.

After a first day with no fish, Joe was true to his no fish guarantee and wouldn’t hear a word otherwise despite an awesome first day and reports that almost no one else was catching anything. On our second day, Joe pulled out all the stops and managed to put us on some phenomenal fish.

Aside from his warm personality, Joe has a tremendous amount of knowledge about fly fishing. He was able to find the few stretches of water in Pulaski where you don’t have to fish shoulder to shoulder with other fishermen, and still managed to hook us up with some of the biggest steelhead and trout either of us had seen on a day when it seemed like no one else was catching fish. After fishing with him, we were fortunate enough to drink a few beers with Joe and he showed us how to tie some flies which was amazing.

As two people who plan on returning to Pulaski in the future, it was great that Joe took us around Pulaski and showed us the best places to eat, buy flies, and find lodging. He was a great source of insider information, and it seems like everyone in Pulaski knows and loves Joe.

In the short time we got to spend with Joe, we had a really amazing experience. All weekend, he went out of his way to make sure that we had a great time. It’s absolutely clear that guiding isn’t just a job for Joe, it’s something that he’s truly passionate about. We both hope to fish with Joe and Hunter again as soon as possible.


-Nick and Alex Boucher

Salmon River: 10/17/2015

Had a great time with Joe this past weekend (10/17-10/18). It's guaranteed early mornings, late nights, lots of fish, and....a whole lot of personality! This was my second time with Joe, and times are tough on the Salmon River this run. We spent the day before on our own before working with Joe, and barely had any hookups. Up and down...the banks were lined with people with no fish.

We started working with Joe on Saturday, and our luck immediately changed. His great gear, his incredible knowledge of the river, and his awesome boxes, and boxes, and boxes or hand tied flies put us on fish! We had 37 hooks-ups, on a river that was struggling to to keep fisherman past 2 in the afternoon. My buddy, with no fly rod experience, spent time with Joe and quickly got over the learning curve. He even landed a brown trout! Joe put me on his best spey rod, a 13 ft. monster, and this made all the distance. The only thing better than the pictures taken of the fish, was listening to Joe's laugh all day long....

I definitely would recommend Joe and his guide service.

Marty Mansfield
2014

Salmon River: 11/05/2014

Just had another great week Steelhead fishing on the Salmon River. Joe guided us again for the third year, as usual he has been amazing. When he gets to the water the school house opens for lessons in fly fishing with us for whatever the students would like to learn. One of our guys participated last year and went out and purchased a rod that afternoon. This year Joe taught Bruce everything from setting up a rod, including tying knots needed and fighting a fish it through landing it in a net. This year other than my ballerina dance, trying not to fall in the river. A steely hit a fly at the end of the swing about 2.5 feet from Larry, where Joe told us that they would lay. The large Steely hit a double body articulating white fly, Joe had tied, as the Steely started to run, I think it was wired on the coffee I had spilled on the fly, ending up running low of backline on the spey rod, I was trying out. Because of Joe, I should have my new spey rod in a couple of weeks, and look forward to a drift boat trip down the Delaware next spring, before our week up on the Salmon river the 1st week of November.

Joe,
Thank you for another great trip fishing the Steelhead.
(Nov 5-7, 2014)

Tom Kierce
2012

Salmon River: 11/08/2012

The steel head is one the strongest and aggressive fish I've ever experienced; As you put it; "bonefish on steriods". I think it's going to take more than one trip to increase my catch to hook up ratio. The 1X 12LB Floro Carbon test was a definite must.
Edward Kipperman

Salmon River: 10/03/2012

Hey Joe,



Thanks for hanging out with us on Wednesday. Man, I couldn't believe how quickly we went from not knowing where to cast the fly line to actually fighting some amazing fish. Thanks for your patience and all the information you provided. We must have hooked into a dozen fights each and landed quite a few as well. Couldn't have done it without your help. Needless to say, we’ll be investing in some fly fishing equipment.



P.S. Remember, not all Russians are bad: there’s always an exception to the rule. Josie Rose is a great dog, it was cool having her around.

Salmon River: 09/29/2012

It was great to fish with you and Chris. It was a great time an very educational experience. The 4 of us enjoyed it very much. I fish saltwater year round multiple times a week and not only have I bought fly rods to go back salmon and steelhead fishing I also am ordering multiple rods to start converting my local saltwater fishing to saltwater fly fishing. Even though I was sick as could be. You guys managed to get me hooked to fly fishing for life.

Peter Troiano

Salmon River: 09/25/2012

Had a great day on the river with Joe. He has a true passion for the sport/art of fly fishing. If you are into catching big fish on the fly and releasing them to fight another day, look no further.

Mike Giebelhausen

Salmon River: 09/23/2012

Thanks Joe! We had a great day on the river and really appreciate the effort you and Chris put in to ensure my boys and I had a great time. Tyler has already added a fly rod to his Christmas list.
The Anderson Family

Salmon River: 05/22/2012

I will miss you my Brother,I thought we would be guiding together, for a life time. I will miss our friendly competition,and most of all the bond of brotherhood that we have shared on the river together. I am pretty sure you and Sinbad are fishing together as I write this. You are in a better place now, no more pain. I will see in the after life,God willing. Tight Lines, Joe & Sinbad
2011

Salmon River: 10/10/2011

Weather a beginner or seasoned pro when fishing the Salmon River Joe is the man to see. Joe and his guys are experienced and well respected on the river. And best of all joe will put you on the fish. But be ready because you have to land him. Joe's many years of experience, top notch gear, and unique outlook on fly fishing made my trip. So much so we decided to stay and fish an additional day. I want to think Joe, Brad, Smitty for a wonderful experience that I will never forget. Spend the day with River Run Troutfitters and you will be thanking them too.
John "JT" Williams


top of page

Salmon River: 05/14/2011

I'm going to miss Pulaski fishing, but I'll be back for sure. It's left great memories for me, for someone who's never done fishing before in her life! So I learnt so much from you!
I'd 'never' done any kind of fishing before so I wanted to be sure I chose the right guy to teach me. I know from reading about Joe that he has a wealth of experience and is extremely knowledgeable when it comes to fishing. As I was coming all the way from London, UK, I had to be certain I chose the right fishing guide. I'm so pleased Joe was my guide. We went straight out on the river and Joe taught me how to fish from there! We had a terrific time out. My knowledge of fishing went from zero to wow! You can tell from how Joe teaches you, that he is a great guide, so knowledgeable and experienced in fly-fishing. When you go fishing with him, you'll see just how passionate he is about fishing. He's great company to be with and like other folks here have mentioned, it really is like taking a friend you have known for a long time along with you! Thanks so much Joe!
Mai Gray

Salmon River Tributaries: 04/30/2011

There are many brave men and women serving overseas at this point in time. These individuals have given up family, friends and sometimes
their lives to fight for our freedom. Both you and I have found ways
to repay their bravery by opening up and providing opportunities to
catch these magnificient fish, to take them away from the battlefield
and enjoy the clean water, the fresh air and the blue sky that they often miss. We have a passion that we want to share with others and
through our knowledge and guidance we serve our nation in a different way. I would like to thank you on behalf of Chief Warrant Officer
Michael Mogg, Col. Shawn Prickett, Lt. Col. Joe Lineberry and Deborah
Paris for a spectacular day of friendship, guidance and fishing on
the Salmon River. I would like to thank you for being a good friend
and offering me the chance to guide with you. We have hooked a few more
fishermen.
Sincerely,
The boys from Fort Drum, United States Army Aviation
and your pal John T. Kuss

Salmon River: 04/29/2011

"I fished with Joe while on R&R leave from Afghanistan. One of the best times fishing that I've ever had! It was my first time flyfishing, and Joe took the time to teach me the basics....he made it EASY! A true patriot, Joe has the best quality equipment, gives first class instruction, and he has the best places on the river to hook up. We caught plenty of fish, including my first steelhead. What an adventure! Thanks Joe for putting us on the fish and treating us right. HOOAH!"

Take care Joe. Look forward to hooking up again in the future.

Respectfully,

Shawn Prickett
LTC, US Army

Salmon River: 04/22/2011

It was our first experience for Steelhead fishing in the Salmon River.Despite the cold water and bad conditions, Joe found the right presentation and those big fish started to hit the fly constantly.We had a wonderful day,thanks to one of the best guide we had the chance to encounter.Thanks Joe for all your advices!


Pierre&Tunde

Salmon River: 04/21/2011

Joe,Schmitty, and Stew (uncle fishey) I cant begin to thank you enough for one of the best days of my life.From the moment we met you treated us like family. BETTER THAN FAMILY!! The boys had so much fun tying flies the night before they could not sleep in anticipation of the day to come and you did more than keep your promise. Eight hours of Non stop action. You all truly gave 200%.I want to come back for Oct 8th. If i cant wait that long maybe we will see you sooner. You guys truly love what you do and it showed over and over. Joe kept telling me not to worry about the trip he would produce and he did that and more. I could write all day about how awesome these guys are but if you have had a trip with them you already know that.

Salmon River: 04/05/2011

Joe, Dick and I enjoyed our two days fishing under the worst weather conditions we've seen in years. You put us on some nice fish. Your one of the hardest working and knowledgable guides we have ever had. We'll be back. Best regards, Phil

Salmon River: 04/04/2011

Joe :

Many thanks for the great job you did for us by introducing us to the Salmon River. I have fished in many places in the world but never caught so many and such large fish as I did with you ! I constantly had fish taking me into the backing--what a time I had! I can't wait to come back!

Sincerely,

Dr. Dick Secord

Salmon River: 04/02/2011

Easily the best fly fishing trip I have ever taken. Smitty was an
awesome guide and really made things interesting despite a slow day.
Not only was he a great guy to be around but he was also a fantastic
instructor. My only fish of the day (the biggest I've every caught-
23" brownie) made him more excited than I was; a true indicator of how
great a guide he is. Even with water near 35 degrees, he kept me onto
fish all day long and stayed patient as I lost his flies to the rocks
below. My knowledge and skills as a fly fisherman have increased
ten-fold thanks to him and I can't wait to take my next trip with the
best guide in NYS. Thanks again!
-Colin
2010

Salmon River: 11/27/2010

Joe,

Thanks again for a couple of great outings. We may have converted at least one spinning rod fisherman into a fly rod fisherman. For the second year in a row you showed my sons and I a great, memorable time on the Salmon River. With less than favorable weather conditions you continually put us onto BIG fish. Look forward to us fishing with you again next year.

Thanks again,
Mik, Mick Jr. and Tony Barna

Salmon River: 11/25/2010

Hey Joe:
Grayson and I had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving.Grayson can not wait to come back.You were amazing we were in to big fish in no time.This was a magical trip for Grayson.You worked so well with my whole family making sure every one had a great time.
I have had a lot of professional guides in my life but i can honestly say that from my experience you are the best. You know the river system like the back of your hand.You are a great mentor for the novice and the Salmon river novice as well.Not only are you a great guide,and a great and patient mentor. You are also a great guy and a wonderful human being.I have a blast just being around you, in fact i think i would have almost as much fun tying flies and telling stories with you as fishing on the great Salmon river. Almost.
We definitely will be seeing you soon.
Sincerely
Pat Hill


top of page

Salmon River: 11/16/2010

Joe

Wanted to drop you a quick line and thank you again for the great trip I had last week on the Salmon River. You had me on steady Steel head all day. I still can't believe how strong these fish are, they were into my backing in no time. I am not sure I would have ever been able to land one of these beautiful fish without all of your coaching. Your unrivaled knowledge of the river kept me on fish even when most people around us were drawing blanks. Did I mention that the trophy brown trout was an awesome bonus! Thanks again, you can count on seeing me again soon!

Tight Lines,

Zac Wallace

Salmon River: 11/12/2010

Frank and myself recently made our first trip to the Salmon River. Having Joe and Smitty by our sides made it a perfect couple of days. The service was top notch; we learned so much. The passion that these two men have is just a great thing to be a part of. The day starts with a hearty breakfast at Timbers and ends with satisfied clients looking back at the great day they just had. They truly make you feel right at home.

I had no idea what to expect when hooking into a Steelhead. Oh man, what an exhilarating and humbling experience! I am honored to have landed my first Steelhead through the guidance of Joe and Smitty. Joe is a great mentor and makes you feel confident that you can land these fish, no matter what level of experience you have. At this point, I am counting down the days when I can get back down there and fish with these guys.

It was a true pleasure to have you as our guide.

Thanks again for everything,

Steve and Frank

Salmon River: 11/11/2010

(Salmon River: 11/11-11/12)





Frank and myself recently made our first trip to the Salmon River. Having Joe and Smitty by our sides made it a perfect couple of days. The service was top notch; we learned so much. The passion that these two men have is just a great thing to be a part of. The day starts with a hearty breakfast at Timbers and ends with satisfied clients looking back at the great day they just had. They truly make you feel right at home.



I had no idea what to expect when hooking into a Steel head. Oh man, what an exhilarating and humbling experience! I am honored to have landed my first Steel head through the guidance of Joe and Smitty. Joe is a great mentor and makes you feel confident that you can land these fish, no matter what level of experience you have. At this point, I am counting down the days when I can get back down there and fish with these guys.



It was a true pleasure to have you as our guide.



Thanks again for everything,



Steve and Frank

Salmon River: 10/26/2010


Salmon/Trout/Steelhead 10/26/10
Joe,
Can't thank you enough for the day on the water, you provided my friends and I an education that will last a lifetime. Justin,Billy and I had one of, if not the best fishing trips ever with you. We can't wait to come back again. The best part about the whole day, besides the great fishing of course, was that we felt like we we're fishing with an old friend, it's a welcome change to fish with a guide that takes the time to make his clients feel comfortable, so the trip doesn't feel like it's all business. I'd recommend your services with 5 stars to anyone who wants a great day on the water, an education about the fish you pursue, a new friend and to catch a few fish along the way. Anyone whose hired a guide before knows, catching the fish is only a small part of the experience, there's so much more to being a great guide and you covered all the bases. Thanks and I hope you post this on your site and please feel free to forward my number to anyone that would like a recommendation on hiring you, in our eyes they couldn't go wrong. See you next season, or maybe this winter if I can convince my better half. Attached are some photos of the trip, keep up the good work!
Regards,
Chris,

Salmon River: 10/20/2010

Joe,

I should have done this sooner, but here is our testimonial:

This was our third trip to the salmon river, the first two trips were unsuccessful. This trip was not. What was the difference? we didn't hire Joe and the guys from river run troutfitters until this year! They put us on fish all day and gave us expert instruction and guidance. All of us hooked into monster steelhead after not getting even a nibble the past two years we came up. Joe's "honest" and "direct" teaching method was exactly what I needed. If you lost the fish Joe would let you know why, and he would let you know why loudly. However, if you landed the fish it was because of him and he would be the first one to high five you and take a picture. Since we had a big group that day we also got to learn from Smitty and John who I can honestly say made my a better fly-fisherman. I was roll casting like a pro by the time Smitty was done with me. They were even cool enough to let us borrow their net for Sunday even though we only hired them for Saturday (it's in your back yard by the way). Bottom line, if you want to catch steelhead on the salmon river, hire these guys.

Thanks again,
Doug, Jim and Trevor

South Sandy: 10/09/2010

Columbus Day weekend with River Run Troutfitters was an unbelievable experience! After making two unsuccessful trips up to the Salmon River the three of us decided to give Joe a call and it made a world of difference. All three of us landed our first Kings, an incredible experience we will never forget! The patience, knowledge, and hospitality of the guides was worth every penny. The three of us had a wide range of skills and we all were able to learn a lot while hooking into, and land many fish. It was clear that the three of us were hooking into more fish than anyone else on the river. Not only did we have an amazing weekend but also we were able to learn the skills necessary to be successful fishing the Salmon River for the rest of our lives. The personalized service of Joe, & Smitty, was truly exceptionally and exceeded all of our expectations. Being charged for the service of one guide and given two was truly remarkable and we are very grateful. We can’t wait to head back up to Pulaski for the steelhead run with River Run Troutfitters! Mike,Mike & and Max

Salmon River: 04/07/2010

Joe, Sinbad, and all our friends at River Run Trout-fitters;

We wanted to extend a heartfelt " Thank you" for giving us an exciting and fun filled Steel Head adventure. Since we never fly fished before, we truly appreciate the patience and knowledge your team gave to all of us which was untiring and never-ending until we said goodbye. We were amazed to find that you had a guide for each one of us on our first day out.
Your knowledge of the river and Steel head fishing truly impressed us and made us feel very comfortable. Your passion for delivering the best experience was seen time and time again,throughout our trip. You covered all our concerns from equipment to technique, and even safety when wading the river.
You are also a man of your word and truly stand behind your guarantee, when you called it a day after four hours into our first day due to poor fishing conditions, and added an additional four hours onto the end of our trip, which proved to be the most exciting. Between the steel head flying through the water and Smitty racing to net them has become a memory we will never forget.
A special Thank you to you Joe, for taking our Dad under your guidance and helping him land his first steel head after many trips to the salmon river.. My brothers are now becoming fly fisherman and my Dad has removed catching a steel head from his bucket list!! This was truly the best fishing trip we have ever taken and are looking forward to seeing you again in the fall for salmon.

Fishing with you this past week was not only a pleasure and an honor, but a privilege for all of us.


Tight Lines, till we see you again:
Ray Jr.,Mike,Steve,Ray Sr.
2009

Salmon River: 11/15/2009

Salmon River trip November 14 and 15 2009

Hi Joe and Sinbad,
Had another awesome time fishing with you guys. Once again, you proved that you can produce results. Even when Tyler was in a slump, you didn't give up on him, and the weekend ended on a happy note. The boys had a great time fishing Steelhead. What a beautiful fish! With your patience and guidance, Connor once again, put some grown men to shame. You always go above and beyond and this time was no different. It was great hanging out with you and Sinbad again. You are still as patient as ever. Don't ever change. Thanks again for taking the boys under your wing. Once again, they had a ball tying flies. When it comes to eating chicken wings, we all definitely bow down to you! Thanks again for another relaxing time. Hope you and Sinbad have a great Thanksgiving.
take care, Danielle, Tyler, and Connor Bradshaw

Salmon River: 11/11/2009

Dear Joe and Sinbad;

I want to thank you for the great time and fantastic memories of fishing for Steelhead last week.

I read somewhere that finding peace in life is about the present, not the past or the future. Well, it was clear that you and Sinbad and those fish are at peace. Clearly, you love what you do and you impart knowledge and passion to your clients.

Mark and I did bring out some non-peaceful moments in you when we tried to match testosterone with those Steelhead bruisers! We got spanked by the fish and a clear explanation from you. But we were impressed how easily you could both encourage and instruct to straighten us out and keep us focused.

It was an awesome day. We lost more fish than we landed, but that's ok. I wouldn't want it any other way and I learned a ton. We will be back for more encouraging, laughing and fishing as soon as we can.

All the best from a couple of happy Canucks.




David

Salmon River: 10/02/2009

Joe

Just wanted to thank you for another memory filled fishing adventure.
The float trip was awesome and very eye opening. Floating down the river is like being in a live scenic painting. Can't wait to do it again. I am very sorry we could not stay longer that day. If, possible we would have stayed on the river until sunset. The time spent that day with you, cousin Joe and Sinbad was priceless.

The first stretch of the river lined with vultures (fishermen snagging) was very sobering. I understand how you feel now this time of year having to see that day after day.. You should be proud and comforted in the fact that you converted us and many others that have fished with you throughout the years and will continue to do so.

I hope to find time between now and our next trip we up there to start tying some flies. So be ready for some emails and/or phone calls as to what materials I should use. I enjoyed be back at camp tying, talking and listening just as much as fishing. I do appreciated allowing us to be apart of all of that.

I also appreciate you saying of tight lines now more. I enjoy a tight line just as much as landing the fish. Don't get me wrong it's nice to know I have won the battle when you beach or net one. However, it just a much fun when you experience the fight and see them do their aerial show. When the line go slack and the fish is free it just pumps me up to cast again until the feel of the next tight line.


Wish you good health and be safe.

Mark Haines

Thanks my brother,I love you all more than my life.P.S. ( Uncle Paul visited you ,me & Joey on that float
Tight Lines,Joe&Sinbad


top of page

Salmon River: 09/27/2009

Salmon River trip September 26 and 27 2009
Hi Joe
Wanted to thank you again for the great time the boys and I had over this past weekend. We had an awesome time fishing for salmon and brown trout. We still can't get over the size of these fish and they fight they put up!!! I wanted to let others know that you don't have to read my testimonial to know that Joe is a terrific guide, just read all the other ones. you'll see a pattern. But if you want to know what kind of a person Joe is, then by all means, read mine. Joe is definitely the person you want to see if you have any questions about fly fishing or the salmon river. He' s the one you want teaching you. His knowledge about the fish, their environment, and the atmospheric and barometric pressure is extensive. That is probably why he is so good at what he does. My boys and I had the best time fishing with Joe and Sinbad. On a more personal note, Joe is a calm, patient man. I wanted only to be a spectator but he got me involved and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I am sure I was a complete disaster out there on the river but he never ridiculed me and instead encouraged me to continue to fish. He never lost his cool,even though we kept getting tangled in the trees, Even though my boys, Tyler age 15 and Connor age 12 had some basic knowledge of fly fishing, they learned so much for Joe in two days.. Even though Joe started out the weekend as our guide, by the end, he was definitely our friend. Connor can be difficult at times but Joe was able to handle him and they soon became fast friends. Tyler also got along well with Joe. His love for animals and their surroundings is apparent. Not only does he only do catch and release, he treats these fish with respect and does everything he can not to injure them. Joe always has his faithful dog, Sinbad, with him. He kept us all amused with his fetching and retrieving skills and he was a great companion to have along.. Joe's services didn't stop at the river

Salmon River: 09/26/2009

Hi Joe
Wanted to thank you again for the great time the boys and I had over this past weekend. We had an awesome time fishing for salmon and brown trout. We still can't get over the size of these fish and they fight they put up!!! I wanted to let others know that you don't have to read my testimonial to know that Joe is a terrific guide, just read all the other ones.

Joe is definitely the person you want to see if you have any questions about fly fishing or the salmon river. He' s the one you want teaching you. His knowledge about the fish, their environment, and the atmospheric and barometric pressure is extensive.

On a more personal note, Joe is a calm, patient man. I wanted only to be a spectator but he got me involved and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I am sure I was a complete disaster out there on the river but he never ridiculed me and instead encouraged me to continue to fish. Even though Joe started out the weekend as our guide, by the end, he was definitely our friend. Connor can be difficult at times but Joe was able to handle him and they soon became fast friends. Tyler also got along well with Joe.

His love for animals and their surroundings is apparent. Not only does he only do catch and release, he treats these fish with respect and does everything he can not to injure them. Joe always has his faithful dog, Sinbad, with him. He kept us all amused with his fetching and retrieving skills and he was a great companion to have along.

After a day of fishing, he invited us back to his camp and taught the boys how to tie flies. I don't know many guides that would go that extra mile after a long, hard day of fishing.

With Joe and Sinbad as your guides, you can't go wrong.

Happy fishing, Joe and Sinbad.
Take care. Danielle, Tyler, and Connor Bradshaw

Salmon River: 05/02/2009

Q: How does a guy go from not knowing how to roll cast a fly line to hooking Steel Head in a couple of hours?
A: Hire River Run Troutfitters as a guide!

Joe is the most knowledgeable, patient and productive guide on the Salmon River and beyond. The spring Steel Head season was winding down, but Joe got us on the fish BIG TIME, even when guys fishing the same pool weren't hitting them! I'd hate to be one of those other guys, watching enviously as Joe's client(s) hook fish after fish. I learned a lot from you, Joe, and can't thank you enough! The only downside of the trip was I didn't get a chance to meet that spaghetti sucking dog, Sinbad! Great couple of days, great company, and absolutely one of the best steaks I have ever had!

Sincerely,
Paul Hildebrand

Salmon River: 04/17/2009



Hi Joe,

Thanks again! And here's a blurb and some photos attached for your website:

Had a great time Steelhead fishing with Joe and Sinbad. It was our first trip to the Salmon River and Joe put us in a great spot and had us catching fish even though the water was high and cold (1800 cfs, 37 degrees). Joe was patient, fun to fish with, and shared a lot of his personal experience and knowledge and about this world-class fishery. We caught a lot of fish that fought hard and ran like freight trains. It was really exciting! It was totally worth getting Joe as a guide. The whole trip started off as a whim and wound up totally exceeding all our expectations. We will definitely be back and we'd hire Joe again in a heartbeat.

Thanks for a memorable day fishing!

Ron and Dave
Cherry Hill and Medford, New Jersey

Salmon River: 04/09/2009

Hi Joe,
So it's been two days since we fly fished with you and tied flies. you have made this trip one to truly remember, from the amount of Steelhead we caught, and you teaching us how to tie flies. It was an epic trip that will be talked about, with us boy's for ever! We definitely made the best of the toughest conditions. when no other guide was producing, you did it. and that's why we will keep coming back to you and Sindbad for years to come. I think we have turned rick into a true fly fisherman with your help. Graig and I have always been traditional fly boy's, but without your help rick still would be a open face reel type of guy!!! thank you so much for everything you have done to improve Graig and I's fly fishing skill's. you are by far the best guide the salmon river has to offer, and i cant wait to do this again. in the two years we have been relying on your help; you have not let us down. I'm tying flies like crazy now, and what a satisfaction to catch a Steelhead on a fly you tied yourself.
The very best to you and Sinbad
Dan,Greg & Rick
( The Vermont Boys )

Salmon River: 03/13/2009

On the way to the river Joe explained the intricacies of the river and the importance of CFM and how that would impact the fish. I was outfitted from head to toe with brand new Simms gear and Joe explained how and why each layer would keep me dry and warm while out on the river. From casting to landing the fish, Joe walked me through each step and made sure I was having a great time. Joe even sent me high quality digital photos before the weekend was over. Joe’s knowledge, expertise, and genuine love for the sport made for an educational and fun fishing trip.



-Rob Flanders

Salmon River: 03/04/2009

Well these past few years legends,heroes,one of a kind. I have been fortunate enough to have known a few, to say the least. The loss of Chan,this year around Christmas,Uncle Paul around Christmas,To my own father 12/26/07 Christmas. To which I need to let you know dad every thing I am,everything I could ever hope to be, were from your teachings. We have strong roots to Hunting & Fishing in the blood ,now down to our children even to you're grandchildren. When I think of all of you these days, I believe there is some special place for all of you, with all who we have loved, including our beloved pets. If there really is a place called Heaven I am sure Jesus, has welcomed all of you with open arms. Father I love you with all of my heart,be at peace & joy you are not alone

Salmon River: 02/03/2009

We lost another great and beautiful human being. Uncle Paul who in a few short years of fishing with him, family and friends did I learn so much. A man of quiet,happy and full of love for nature and the great outdoors..Uncle Paul you have no idea how grateful I am we got to do that drift on you're last trip up here. The boys thought I got stuck babysitting. What I got was a chance to see why the sun rose and shined for them having you in all there lives. You will never be far from the the Hearts,& Thoughts of me and Sinbad and all who loved you so much.. In my beliefs you will always be next to me, each time I put on my waders and boots, as we take that slow and full of conversation as we are heading to the rivers edge. Mark,Joe,Mickey thank you so much for sharing part of him with us. See you all soon.Photo left front uncle Paul,Mickey,Left middle Joe,Me,Chris, in the back Mark
Tight Lines,Joe & Sinbad

Salmon River: 02/03/2009

We lost another great and beautiful human being. Uncle Paul who in a few short years of fishing with him, family and friends did I learn so much. A man of quiet,happy and full of love for nature and the great outdoors..Uncle Paul you have no idea how grateful I am we got to do that drift on you're last trip up here. The boys thought I got stuck babysitting. What I got was a chance to see why the sun rose and shined for them having you in all there lives. You will never be far the the Hearts,& Thoughts of me and Sinbad. In my beliefs you will always be next to me, each time I put on my waders and boots as we take that slow and intuitive conversations we have heading to the rivers edge.
Tight Lines,Joe & Sinbad

Salmon River: 02/03/2009

We lost another great and beautiful human being. Uncle Paul who in a few short years of fishing with him, family and friends did I learn so much. A man of quiet,happy and full of love for nature and the great outdoors..Uncle Paul you have no idea how grateful I am we got to do that drift on you're last trip up here. The boys thought I got stuck babysitting. What I got was a chance to see why the sun rose and shined for them having you in all there lives. You will never be far the the Hearts,& Thoughts of me and Sinbad. In my beliefs you will always be next to me, each time I put on my waders and boots as we take that slow and intuitive conversations we have heading to the rivers edge.
Tight Lines,Joe & Sinbad
2008


top of page

Salmon River: 04/27/2008

My friend Mack and I booked Joe for a day on the river on 4/27/08. We found him through his website and he did not disappoint. We showed up at 830am, pretty late, but Joe was understanding and got us outfitted and right out on the water. It was a beautiful day on the river and it was surprising to only see a handful of other groups near our fishing spot. The first pool we stopped at was unproductive, we spotted a few fish but could only get a small Steelhead fresh from the hatchery to bite. But we did learn how to roll cast and got the feel for placing the fly where it needed to be. Joe was extremely patient whenever we got snagged up and provided us with a great deal of humor. The next spot we waded too was where we stayed the rest of the trip and was loaded with Steelhead. Shortly after getting there Mack hooked up and landed a nice fish, and my next cast after snapping his picture I landed a fish. We caught 9 nice fish in all, the biggest one probably being around 13 or 14 pounds, and we lost a handful of other fish. It was an unbelievable day of fishing and we had a great time with Joe and Sinbad. We will be back in the fall and are looking forward to getting back together with Joe for some salmon fishing. Thanks again Joe, it was a day to remember on the water.

Salmon River: 04/26/2008

"As an experienced bass fisherman I have never experienced anything so exciting as fishing for Steel head.
I've heard how great it was and what great fighters they are and have always wanted to try it.

I have also fished salt water which was not as much fun either. With the Steel head much more finesse was required than just to muscle in the fish. As I had no experience with this Joe worked with me and coached me with every detail until I was able to land one of those monsters. They pull like a freight train. Also, I had little experience fly fishing for trout. It didn't matter. Joe coached me on the mechanics required for fly fishing and soon I was catching so many fish I lost count. The salmon river was chocked full of fish and easily accessible.

Joe has a great passion for fishing. He also really cared that I had a good time and was successful

Thanks Joe. I'll see you next year, or maybe sooner!

Art Brantz.

Salmon River: 04/08/2008

Standard;My wife Susan and I made our first trip to fish the Salmon River, knowing very little about fishing for Steelhead. We found Joe through his web page, and contacted him by phone to set up our trip. From the initial conversation, Joe was welcoming and confident we would have a great time, and catch some fish. We met Joe the first morning for breakfast and immediately felt comfortable talking and visiting with him.
Joe has an amazing knowledge of the river and the fish he pursues. He did a wonderful job working with the both of us, keeping us with flies and leaders. This proved difficult as the water was fast and we hooked bottom many times. Joe had us on fish first thing, and Susan landed her first fish a large Steelhead 15-16lbs before lunch. On day two we started the same way with breakfast and then fishing. The fishing was slow in the morning, but after lunch we moved to a new location and immediately began hooking fish. We each landed several during the afternoon all 10+ lbs, and had on several more fish we didn't land. Joe is a very patient and ethical fisherman, and we had a wonderful time. We left on the second day and headed for Niagara, Joe told us we would end up wishing we stayed to fish another day....He couldn't have been more right. We will most definitely make the trip back to fish the Salmon River, and will again fish with Joe. I've been recommending him to anyone who listens to the story of our trip."

2007

Salmon River: 12/21/2007

Joe and Sinbad,
Thank you so much for an unforgettable time, here's my testimonial feel free to edit. Please get the pictures to me as soon as you can.




My father and I decided to try our hand at steel heading on a two day trip this year on the salmon river, and Joe came through big time. Our friend and long time steel header set us up for failure with such comments as "You'll be lucky to hook one on your first few trips." Joe proved him wrong in no time at all. Within an hour of meeting Joe and within a half an hour of fishing, I had not only hooked but landed my first steel head. In short, I caught four and my father caught one and we had on upwards of thirty or more some near 20 lbs. (Sinbad was there for moral support when we lost them) We hooked so many big fish that we ran out of the most productive fly. As Joe seems to have endless supplies of his own well tied flies, this normally would not have been a problem, but it was a pattern that I had tied so Joe did not have any on him (although I'm sure he does now). He made an extremely generous offer and let me use his materials and set me up on his vice. I think that says something about what a generous guide he is and the extra efforts he's willing to make. It was an amazing experience and I know we will be back soon. Thank you Joe and Sinbad for a great trip. I can't wait to see my friend who said I'd be lucky to hook one. I wonder what he'll say when he sees my picture with the fifteen pounder!



Thank you so much and we will be seeing you guys again soon,
Hayden and Jeff Sammak

Salmon River: 12/19/2007

Some might call it serendipity, but to be perfectly honest I ended up crossing paths with Joe & Sinbad simply because their website loaded the fastest while I was on a patrol base in southwest Baghdad, Iraq, a week from returning Home, and the Internet was acting up. Fast forward just over a month to 19 DEC and there I was, landing my first steel head on the Salmon River, figuratively checking off a high priority block on my “Things to Do When I Get Home List.”

To anyone reading this & considering a trip out with Joe & Sinbad, hesitate no longer. This will be a life changing experience not only because you will land (& more importantly set free) great fish, but due to what Joe & Sinbad bring to the table, that being an unparalleled passion for the river & it’s fish, as well as a level of enthusiasm for playing fetch with soggy sticks that I never knew existed.

To Joe & Sinbad, thank you for making one of my coming Home dreams a reality. I look forward to seeing you both out on the river & it will be an honor to fish with you again in the spring (and to throw a stick to you, Sinbad!).

Very Respectfully,

Brian Graham, Jr

Salmon River: 11/27/2007

Dear Sinbad and Joe,


Thank you both for providing us with an unforgettable fishing experience that will provide us with stories to tell on every fishing trip we take for the rest of our lives. We gave Joe a simple mission, introduce us to big brown trout. He delivered that and much more. The conditions were tough, but Joe turned us on to fish and Sinbad provided the comic relief so we never thought much about the rain, snow, sleet and wind. If you like to fish the right way, laugh a lot, and be amazed by a dog that has figured out how to play fetch solo, then connect with Joe and Sinbad.


Joe showed us how to catch the fish so well that the next day we caught even more -- without the guide. Now that's proof that Joe did his job. We're ready for our return trip and cannot wait to be entertained by Sinbad again.


Fish On,


Chris Thompson
Cleveland, OH


Salmon River: 10/18/2007

I fished with Joe and Sindbad on October 18 and 19, 2007. Although the weather was not the best, with a cold front coming through, Joe was able to find the fish. Thursday we had multiple hook-ups of both salmon and steel head. Friday morning the rain started and fishing was slow; however, we still managed to hook plenty of fish. Joe knew which flies it took to catch both salmon and steel head and with the help of Sindbad, we were able to land a number of fish. I would definitely recommend Joe as a guide to anyone wanting to fish the Salmon River.

Thanks,

David Thatcher

Hellertown, PA

Salmon River: 10/15/2007

This is a little unusual.But for those of you who love the sport of rugby.This tribute to the New Zealand rugby team the All Blacks is something I feel is for the world to see.P.S. I have never visited her shores,but through the eyes of the many young rugby players who I have sponsored,I know in my heart when I do reach her shores,I will be going home.
Tight Lines,Joe & Sinbad

Dear All Blacks,

It did no€™t go your way.

Your supporters are distraught, but I know the best among them understand that yours is a far deeper pain. You, who gave up years of your life in relentless pursuit, who faced injury, criticism, sacrifice, joy and finally despair. All the while bearing the burden of responsibility reserved only for heroes.

It must be close to unbearable.

For us, the people who sit on your shoulders every time you step on the field, who defend and love the Haka against those who don’t understand, who hold you as a symbol of our nation, it is also hard.

But there are other things. For us and for you.

There is our beautiful country, young and vibrant, rivers and mountains and oceans and fish and birds. There are our close communities and family values. There is our ingenuity. There are the Everests we have climbed as a nation already, and the Everests we have the potential to climb. There are gumboots and beers and Footrot Flats and there are meat pies with sauce.

There is New Zealand. Aotearoa.

Please know this: when children step onto rugby fields across the country, you are in their minds – and you are nothing but heroes. Champions that they love and respect without criticism or prejudice. Our boys.

And underneath our pain, adult pain that understands luck, circumstance and injustice, I hope that most of us feel the same.

Kia kaha.



Salmon River: 09/28/2007

Testimonial.

My wife and I searched for a guide with integrity and with the heart of a teacher. We found that in Joe. As new fly fishermen we wanted to learn the right way to do things. Joe was willing to show us how to do it with respect for the fishery and his clients. He was there to stand in the gap for us when people crowded in . He was also there to show us how to use certain flies and what works best in what type of situation. He fully understands the need to give back to the river and not take every fish you catch, which is a refreshing concept lost in our society. As a paid fulltime biologist , I felt Joe' s knowledge to read water, explain fly fishing techniques, and explain different fly pattern educational. My wife and I left the river with no fish in hand but with memories of our first hookups and a be tter understanding of how to catch big fish on light tackle in the Salmon River.

The Salmon River is the dream for most fly fisherman that want to catch big fish on light tackle. Joe can help you achieve that dream while protecting from the chunk and dunk fish thieves that snag.

Thanks again Joe and we' ll see you around steelhead season.

Salmon River: 05/15/2007


17 June, 07

Joe,
Just wanted to say thanks again for an enjoyable day on the river in Pulaski. It was a great experience learning the pleasures of fly fishing. It’s been over 20 years since I’ve been fishing and you made the day one to remember. Once I got the hang of it, I was finally getting the fly out where the fish were and having the day of my life fighting some big ones. My biggest problem was operator error (grabbing the reel, not letting the drag do its job, excitement, etc.) Even hooked that BIG ONE twice, but he decided he liked the fly’s better than we did.

Your instructions were great and the water was plentiful with victims ready for the hook. Although I didn’t land one of the big ones (at least 10), I was still able to bring in one nice Rainbow. I can’t thank you enough for a great day, one I will keep telling my friends about and maybe I can get back up there in the fall when they’re running again.

Thanks again,

John Pradelski
Johnstown, NY
Salmon River


top of page

Salmon River: 04/17/2007

Joe, I want to say thanks for a wonderful experience for me and my son. We have caught many trout before in the mountains of North Carolina, but we have never caught the Steel head “Monsters like the ones you have in the Salmon River. They were fun to catch! But without question we would have caught no fish at all without you not only putting us on the fish, but also teaching us how to actually catch them. But that is just about fishing. I think more than anything, we enjoyed our three days with you. You could not have been more accommodating and thoughtful to ensure that we had a great experience. You are such a great asset to the sport of fishing and overall quality man. Thanks, Joe.

Bruce “Middle of the River Man” and Jared Joyner

Wilson, North Carolina

PS I can’t believe that you put our pictures on your web page---that is great, thanks.

W. Bruce Joyner

Vice President of Direct Marketing

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

6931 Arlington Road

Salmon River: 04/01/2007

Fished early season with Joe Vivenzio, on April 1st 2007. My girlfriend and I's first visit to the Salmon River; it was an incredible and unforgettable experience! Tough conditions with very high and freezing cold water, but Joe is an amazingly patient and persistent man. His experience on the river is without a doubt impeccable.



Joe taught us how to rig and present the fly properly for the existing conditions, whether from shore or from his impressive Hyde drift boat. He also explained that you have to believe and have confidence that the fish are there, right where you think they are. Another good lesson taught was not to chase fish down river when the water is raging at 1800 CFM. THAT’S A NO, NO, right Joe?



I highly recommend hiring Joe whether you are a beginner or veteran. His knowledge and experience will stay with you for a lifetime. Despite the bad weather and conditions, he made us laugh and have a good time to no end, sharing many stories. This is the kind of man you want to have as a friend. The thing I like best about Joe is that there was no giving up until that “magic hook-up” happened.



It was an honor fishing with you Joe; you are true blue!



James Beadman and Nancy Jolicoeur

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

2006

Salmon River: 10/03/2006

Fun as a guide, fun to fish with, fun to hang with, that's Joe Vivenzio.

Joe doesn't mess around, he's gonna put you on fish and hook you up. He taught me how to fly fish on the Salmon River last year and fine-tuned me this year. We'd get on the good water before the sun came up, get set up and fish from sunrise to dinnertime. Joe keeps us rigged up with the happening flies and he's there to help land the fish he puts us on. This trip I must have hooked and fought over 30 fish (in the first few hours of the first day!) before I finally "got it" and landed a beautiful atlantic salmon. We got to watch Joe in action when he came by to fish with us on his day off, he was constantly hooking up, ..... amazing.

Thanks again Joe,
Thanks also to Chris, Hi to Sinbad

I'm looking forward to next year's trip!

Joe C. -w/ Alex, Steve, and Frank

Salmon River: //2110

Just had another great week Steelhead fishing on the Salmon River. Joe guided us again for the third year, as usual he has been amazing. When he gets to the water the school house opens for lessons in fly fishing with us for whatever the students would like to learn. One of our guys participated last year and went out and purchased a rod that afternoon. This year Joe taught Bruce everything from setting up a rod, including tying knots needed and fighting a fish it through landing it in a net. This year other than my ballerina dance, trying not to fall in the river. A steely hit a fly at the end of the swing about 2.5 feet from Larry, where Joe told us that they would lay. The large Steely hit a double body articulating white fly, Joe had tied, as the Steely started to run, I think it was wired on the coffee I had spilled on the fly, ending up running low of backline on the spey rod, I was trying out. Because of Joe, I should have my new spey rod in a couple of weeks, and look forward to a drift boat trip down the Delaware next spring, before our week up on the Salmon river the 1st week of November.

Joe
Thank you for another great trip fishing the Steelhead. (Nov 5-7 2014)

Salmon River

"Joe really impressed me. He knew the water, the tackle and the fish which combined for one of my best days of fishing ever."

Robert Smith
Albany, NY

Salmon River

"I wanted to thank you for teaching me the ways to catch trophy Steelhead, Cohos, Browns and Atlantics. From the first day I met you I could tell by your confidence that I was going to have some tales to tell. As our pictures show, my friends and I had the time of our lives. You know the Salmon River and you know how to catch big fish.

I now feel that I know more about fishing for big game than ever before. Thanks Joe."

Thane Jenkins
Honeoye Falls, NY

Salmon River

"Joe is one of the most dedicated, hard-working guides on the river. From sunrise to quitting time (which could be sunset) Joe will do what ever is needed to help his customers have a great time. What's so good about Joe is he teaches his clients how to fish the way a fish thinks. He does this by teaching you to visualize the bottom structure to maximize their experience. This always helps his customers to improve their fish fighting technique due to the increase in the number of hookups.

After a day on the river with Joe, you have a new self-confidence that maybe I can finally be one of the 10% who catches 90% of the fish. Thanks Joe!"

Stu Levin
Howell, NJ

Salmon River

"This past March I had an opportunity to schedule a last minute trip with Joe Vivenzio of River Run Troutfitters. The morning we hit the river the air temperature was cold to say the least. I asked Joe if we had any chance of catching a Steelhead on such a cold day. He turned to me, smiled and said, "even a bad day on the water is better than a good day at work". Thinking of what he said to me, I prepared myself for what I thought would be a long cold day. As it turned out, I went three for nineteen Steelies. I fought ten Steelhead before I landed a fish. I expected Joe to lose his patience, but he never did. Each time I lost a fish he would tell me about how back in the 70's when he first started fishing the river, he went zero for many more than that, and laughed!

At the end of what turned out to be a perfect day, I landed my best fish ever. A 15 lb. male Steelhead. At Joe's request, I kissed the Steelhead on the head and thanked him for the great fight he gave me, and then released him back into his domain.

Joe, I don't know how to ever tell you how much I appreciated the time you showed me on the Salmon River. Each day in the office is a little better when I think about that day."

Todd Thronburg
Altamont, NY

Salmon River

"I met Joe a few years ago on the Salmon River. At the time, I was fishing the river for Salmon with J-Plugs when this guy fly fishing across the river started busting on me for what he called being nothing more than a "glorified snagger". This was a person I thought I would never like. A year later we met again, but not on the river. I asked him where I knew him. He smiled and said the Salmon River. The light switch went on and I remembered. Before I could get a word in he offered to teach me how to fish with a fly rod. He said I'd be able to appreciate fishing a lot more.

With that, he left me his phone number. That Spring I called him and we scheduled a trip for April 2000. I caught some nice Steelhead. I went with him again in September 2000 and again I caught many Steelhead and some nice Salmon. I now fish with a fly rod only!

Thanks Joe, but I'd like you better if you'd stop telling people how we met."

Steve Swift
Middleburg, NY

Salmon River

"Guide Joe Vivenzio is truly a master of his craft. Joe offers more to his clients than a chance to catch fish. He provides instruction, lessons on conservation, insight to fish movements and feeding cycles based on their relationships to weather, barometric pressure and water levels. When fishing with Joe, you get a straightforward guy, willing to give you the knowledge he has accumulated through countless hours on the water. You leave that day with the skills and know-how to return to the river and catch fish on your own. Many of the lessons learned can be used on any river, for any species.
Joe spends a remarkable amount of energy preparing for his clients. With hundreds of flies in his vest, he has a options for virtually every situation. Joe also scouts the water the day before his client's visit to ascertain the best opportunities. Joe is so confident you will catch a fish, he offers the only "No Fish, No Pay" guarantee. If you don't catch a fish, Joe will reschedule another trip on him. No one else compares.

I highly recommend Joe based on his personality, willingness to teach others, dedication to the river and seemingly endless information on the rivers he fishes."

Oliver Hicks
Binghamton, NY


top of page

Salmon River

"I want to again sincerely thank you for taking the time to help me get into--and land--my first steelhead. I've rarely met anyone on any river who was as patient and accommodating with their expertise and advice (not to mention their flies) as you were with me. Thanks for helping making my visit back East a memorable one."

Christian Hicks
Portland, OR

Salmon River

"I'd like to thank you for the time and effort you generated in providing an exceptional fishing trip for Stan and myself. By the way, no outfitter that we've ever hired provided the top-notch services, including fly rods and reels plus thirteen hours of knowledgeable guided instructions at such a low cost for two people. Furthermore, I will probably never revert back to running line again since the Oak Orchard trip.

We will most certainly be utilizing your services again in the future and would recommend you to anyone looking for a guide."

John Sperat

Salmon River

Ken LaPointe (right) with his son

"Thanks Joe. I can't thank you enough for the help you gave me, I have fished a lot of places including Alaska and never has anyone been so helpful than you. I have told a lot of people about you and told them if they ever had the chance to fish NY state to book with you.?"

Ken LaPointe

Salmon River

Joe and Sinbad,
I can't thank you enough for the wonderful experience on the Salmon and Oswego rivers. Even though there was not much water, we hooked up with five fish and landed two. Man , biggest fish I ever caught and I owe it all to Joe-he knows fish !!! He has the best equipment ( G. Loomis )
and all the right instruction to go with it. Now i want to get a flyfishing rig ! The best day I've had on the water in a long time, well worth the price, Joe gives 110% effort and offers a no fish/no pay guarantee, what more could you ask for in a fishing trip? Thanks again.

Bob Slowik.

Salmon River

RIVER RUN TROUTFITTERS ARE ONE OF THE ELITE GUIDE SERVICES YOU'LL EVER FIND IN PA. AND NY. JOE & SINBAD ARE GREAT HOSTS. THEY ARE WITH YOU EVERY MINUTE OF THE DAY FROM SUN UP TO SUN DOWN HELPING YOU CATCH THOSE BIG FISH.
JOE WILL TAKE YOU TO THE BEST FISHING HOT SPOTS & TEACH YOU THE TECHNIQUES YOU'LL NEED TO CATCH THAT TROPHY FISH YOU HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR. JOE WAS WITH MY FATHER, [WHO IS 82 & AND NOT DOING TOO WELL] EVERY STEP OF THE WAY ON THE SALMON RIVER, MAKING SURE HE HAD A GOOD TIME AND THAT WAS NOT EASY TO DO, IF YOU KNOW MY DAD. JOE ALSO TAUGHT MY BROTHER [WHO NEVER FLY FISHED IN HIS LIFE] HOW TO FLY FISH SO HE COULD CATCH HIS FIRST TROPHY SALMON. I WOULD SAY BY FAR THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST FISHING TRIPS I HAVE BEEN ON FOR SOME TIME. I HAVE MEMORIES OF THIS TRIP THAT WILL BE WITH ME FOR A LONG TIME. I WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND RIVER RUN TROUTFITTERS TO ALL MY FAMILY & FRIENDS.

THANKS AGAIN JOE,SINBAD,STU FOR THE GREAT TRIP & HOPE TO SEE YOU ALL SOON ON THE SALMON RIVER
.
AUGIE,MIDDLETOWN,NY
GUS & BOB
LEHIGHTON,PA

Salmon River

Joe and Sinbad,

The trip was absolutely incredible. My buddies and I had always wanted to fish the salmon river. After a little research we found RiverRun Troutfitters on the web. I will have to admit the no fish no pay guarantee really got my attention. After speaking with Joe he mentioned that he fly fishes. This seemed like a problem because myself and friends never fly fished before. Joe assured us that he could teach us to fly fish, all three of us, in a matter of hours. I will have to say my friends and I were skeptical. But the guarantee and photos of the huge fish pushed us over the edge. I am so glad that we decided to go. This was in fact a trip of a lifetime. The fish were unbelievable We caught more fish than any one around us at two rivers. This could only be due to Joe's expertise and patience. To take three guys who never touched a fly rod and have such great results is amazing Our hats off to you Joe your the best.

Thanks Troy Smitty and Rocky TT

Salmon River

I just finished my second trip with Joe and Sinbad. The first trip was in October with my son Daniel (8 years old) and water levels were atrocious (under 200 cfs). Both Danny and I had never fly fished before and Joe had great patience with the both of us. Unfortunately, neither one of us landed any fish. True to his no fish no pay guarantee I received a call from Joe several months later wanting to know when I was ready to go back on the water FOR FREE. I scheduled for April and with water levels at a much better level (over 700 cfs) I landed a steelhead after hooking 10 others including a 20 minute battle that ended in a snapped tippet. What impressed me was Joe's patience with me while I learned how to land a fish "You muscled him so hard that fish should have had scuba gear on". I won't get into Joe's sense of humor here but I will say there is never a dull moment on the water with him. After seeing first hand how other guides treat their clients, I highly recommend Joe based on his knowledge, patience, and professionalism. A terrific day of fishing, with a terrific guide. Thanks Joe.

Salmon River

"David (age 12) and I had never Salmon fished and we decided to try the Salmon River in NY. Not knowing the area (or how to Salmon fish) we thought getting a guide would be our best bet.

We found River Run Troutfitters by searching the internet. From the start, our Guide, Joe was extremely helpful in getting us organized, and very straightforward, and honest about what to expect from our trip.

We began on a Sunday morning in September where we hiked/waded through the woods in the dark to find our "fishing spot". Right from the start we began hooking up with some very nice (and large) king Salmon! Needless to say, the whole day was one salmon after another.

David even caught a large Coho. Joe had taught us how to Salmon fish and there we were catching them in our first half hour.

If you want to catch fish I recommend getting a good guide and that would be Joe Vivenzio. David and I could never have had so much fun without Joe's help, patience, and sense of humor. We'll be coming up again and will go with Joe. Wouldn't do it any other way."

John Conway & son , David
Connecticut

Salmon River

"Having never gone fly-fishing, let alone fishing at 5:00 a.m. with waders and corkers on and having to cross a somewhat tumultuous river two times (HOORAH!), Joe and Chris definitely had their hands full with the five of us! It was everything we wanted and nothing we expected.

Their professionalism was truly second to none! I will say this: that Joe and Chris have what a lot of people don't have and that's "an absolute unbridled passion" for what they do, coupled with an "insurmountable amount of patience".

I think as a group we snapped a few rods and they must have tied 100 flies for us all day long until we landed some fish! They taught you technique, tenacity and just about anything you want to know about the waters you're brought to fish upon.

We not only had a great time, but we all walked away with a new found respect for the sport of fly-fishing and an all around respect for nature and the river."

Vasilia & David Maikish ( & Friends )
Tuxedo, NY

Salmon River

"Joe is the man. My buddy Alex and I had a blast going for Kings and Coho's last weekend on the Salmon River in a setting that was majestic. He put us on the spots where the hookups were boundless and he patiently taught us how to get those rockets coming into the river to the shore.

We spent two days with our lines in the water for at least 9 hour each day and with our flies on the bottom where they needed to be. Through several snags on the bottom and others abandon lines, he never lost his patients and quickly got us back in business.

He and his trusted mate Sinbad made the trip one to remember and I would recommend him to anybody. I hope to some day get back to that river and do it all again. Thanks Joe."

Lt Col Doug Plymale USAF
Oklahoma


top of page

Salmon River

"I flew in to Syracuse not real sure what lay ahead. Drove up to Pulaski for nice dinner and settled in early. I was to meet my guide at a little diner for breakfast at 5:00am.

Joe is the kind of guy that makes you feel good. He found out pretty quick I had never fished for Salmon or for that matter waded much. I pulled my rubber waders out of the vehicle and he asked "what's that?" After putting a pair of his breathable waders with corkers and spikes on, he tossed me some raingear too.

For the next two days I had a ball. He learned a little about Tennessee and I learned a lot about catching King Salmon. The power of these fish just coming up the river is absolutely awesome. They're like 30 pound striper on some kind of dope. Catching salmon on traditional fly rods with 8 pound tippet was an experience I'll never forget.

As impressive as Joe's (teaching) skills were they were almost over shadowed by his compassion for the fish and their environment. He has no patience for those who are not true sportsmen. There are people that come to this beautiful spot to basically snag these great fish.

Be forewarned, if you're ever on the Salmon river snagging salmon and you see a man with a beautiful Chesapeake Bay Retriever that answers to Sinbad, you better pack it in. Thanks Joe and Sinbad, we will meet again!!!"

Mark Beaty
Tennessee

Salmon River

"It was 4:30 AM as Jeff was laying on the bench and I stood in front of the diner with my arms crossed. I was already in my waders, awaiting the arrival of Joe. After Joe found us out in front of the diner (apparently we are the only guys who didn't go into the diner to meet Joe since 1979), we had a hardy breakfast and headed out to the river.

Within 15 minutes of first light, the fight was on! We were each into about twenty fish, and after a little coaching on our fighting skills, we even managed to land one. The whole morning was nonstop action. Joe decided we needed rest and to refuel, so we went to lunch. After lunch, we hit yet another great spot with the same results as the morning - bite after bite after bite. A few more fish in the net as the sun faded and that put an end to one of the best fishing days of our lives!

Now, as for our guide Joe, his knowledge and love of the river and these fish is second to none. We went out on the river the next day by ourselves and the knowledge we gained from Joe helped us catch fish all day! For a guaranteed awesome day of fishing, we'd recommend Joe to anyone. We'll definitely see you again soon Joe!"

Thanks,
Kirk and Jeff


Salmon River

O.K….so it goes like this: cast up and over, lift the rod tip, follow the line with the current, feel the bottom – but lift the fly over --- DOH! “I need another fly!” O.K….cast up and over, follow the line with the current, feel the bottom – but lift the fly OVER the rocks, set anything that feels out of the ordinary --- DOH! Another rock! But wait, the rock is moving…the rock is moving VERY QUICKLY! The rock is jumping out of the water and slamming back on the surface! The rock is instantly downstream a hundred yards and I’m holding on for dear life!

This was our group’s first experience with the Salmon River. With the exception of Peter, none of us had ever seen a steelhead, and Peter’s experience was fifteen years ago. All the pictures and articles about these fish that I pored over in the months leading up to the trip didn’t do the experience justice. These fish are awesome!

We are so glad that we hired a guide for our first trip here. Joe and his sidekicks (Jay & Chris) were invaluable to our success and great time. Despite very challenging water conditions (1700cfs), Joe was able to place us on the best spot on the river --- really! No one we met – including other guides, had the kind of day we had. Joe, Jay and Chris taught us what we needed to know to hook into fish. They were very accommodating and patient. Joe is very animated and passionate about these fish. I’m confident that we would not have had the 28 hook ups we had, and certain that we would not have landed the! 4 fish we did if we had tackled the river on our own.

Our gratitude to Joe, Jay, Chris and Sinbad for a great time and a lifetime memory. We hope to see you in the spring and fall next year!

Mark

Salmon River

It's Monday, and I'm still recovering from our one day marathon with Joe last Saturday, which started at 5 am at ended at 7 pm; we fished the entire legal period on the Salmon River (1/2 hour before sun-up until 1/2 hour after sun-down), with just a short break for lunch. I don't know how Joe does it 12 days in a row. Despite difficult conditions (1200 cfs), Joe and Chris got us into a lot of fish - browns, steelhead, king salmon, and coho. He and Chris took appropriate care of 4 salmon/steelhead neophytes.

My one complaint about Joe is that he is really passionate about his clients catching fish. I drew a cold hand in the morning, which caused all sorts of "guide performance anxiety." Only after I started catching fish in the afternoon was he relieved enough to share his unique sense of humor, including a couple of Vivenzio dancing jigs on the bank to celebrate each new fish. Chris is a real professional, with a calm cool approach to angling. And Sinbad - that dog is focused with one serious mission in
life: to make sure he always has one stick in the water.

We'll be booking again, but I've got to make sure to catch fish early next time, and I'm going to get my own 11'6" Loomis steelhead rod so Joe can go back to fishing his "baby".

Vince

Salmon River

Four of us descended on Joe on 10/25/03. Two from Canada and two from NYC. One fly guy, two beginners, and one novice. I was the novice. Joe was solid. He got us to the right places as the right times with the right equipment.

He hammered me into shape by noon. I had 6 hook-ups and no landings. Big fish(20-30lbs), tough conditions (1200cfs). At each failure Joe whacked me with a good dose of humor, criticism and knowledge. I landed my first fish by 2PM and my second at 3PM.

By Sat afternoon I was totally focused. When the light started dimming, I thought it was another passing rainstorm. It was 5:15PM. We walked out around 6:15pm pushing the legal fishing time to its limits. Even the Sat night Yankee loss couldn't cool the warm weary glow dedicated anglers feel after one of those incredible days on the water.

We're already planning a winter booking with Joe for Steelheads. GOOD GUIDE.

Jonathan

Salmon River

After spending over five years living in the Southern Hemisphere and fishing for Big Brown Trout on the South Island of New Zealand, I returned to the USA looking for a new fishing adventure. I was lucky enough to stumble upon Joe's website and to book a trip to the famous Salmon River. The Salmon River system proved to be an amazing fishery and with Joe's 30+ years of experience at my side, I had a fantastic four days on the water. Despite difficult conditions due to high water levels, Joe consistently put me on the hotspots that had other jealous fisherman lining up to watch me hook-up and battle with world-class trophy fish. During my trip, we landed big fresh King Salmon, hot Cohos, Lake Trout, Brown Trout, Atlantic Salmon, and many dime-bright Steelheads. Simply put, the diversity of this fishery is mind-blowing. Sinbad, whose riverside antics must be seen to be believed, is an absolute treat. He adds greatly to the whole experience and if you have any concerns, Sinbad NEVER interferes with the fishing. Thanks Joe & Sinbad!


Dave Granese; Norfolk, MA

Salmon River

Booking a trip with Joe is not just having someone take you to the fish; it is like taking a class on how to catch extra-ordinary fish 101. He'lll teach you to read the river, find, hook, and land the most rewarding fish you'll ever catch. Joe's knowledge of the river is vast and never ending. You'll be fishing from sun up to sun down with Joe teaching you about the fish and the river every step of the way. The scenery itself is beyond dreams and coupled with the fish you catch breaths a synergy matched only in heaven.

I've found Joe to be very resourceful in meeting our requests, both Dave and I wanted large browns, and Joe found them for us. He even gave us a taste of the formidable steelhead, what a tenacious fish! We landed our share of fish and equally lost as many. With a little more experience fighting them, and use of the knowledge given to us by Joe, we can come back to this river and fish it with the respect it deserves and benefit from a great days catch.

We have found this trip to be very satisfying, (as well as entertaining- thanks to Sinbad) and will certainly return soon, and if you book with Joe there will be no regrets.

Thanks again to Joe and Sinbad,

Dave and Eric
Middleborough Ma

Salmon River

Joe Vivenzio is an excellent guide. Leads you to the runs with fish and without the crowds. Excellent equipment. Environmentalist. Good sense of humor.

Bill Hale

West Canada Creek

Trudy and I really appreciate you pairing us up with Chris. His knowledge, patience, and willingness to teach were special attributes that few people possess. His selections of waters and fishing rechniques gave us a considerable range of trout fishing experience -- and the biggest bonus of all was that we caught fish. Even more special was his impromptu lesson on fly tying. What a great way to spend non-productive fishing time; and, Trudy tells me that she learned more by watching him for thirty minutes than by reading any book or watching fly tying videos on OLN. Tell Chris that when he is ready to try some Southern fly fishing, he would always be welcome at our house.

After we left you guys, we did drive into the Adirondacks. We made it as far as the Museum and Buttermilk Falls before coming back through Amsterdam, NY. That is one beautiful piece of land up there with more water than I've seen outside of the Canadian Rockies. We will try to get back one day and fish the Salmon and the Ausable -- both look like our kind of water.

Thanks for a great trip and some fun fishing.

Ed and Trudy

Salmon River

My brother Kelly and I have been planning a trip to the area for some time.
We were excited to meet Joe and Sinbad and get on the river. Joe was the
perfect guide- getting us into the big fish first thing in the morning, then
as the day progressed taking us to more challenging waters and helping us
along for what turned out to be a great day. Joe seems to have a great knack
for reading his clients interests, abilities and personalities and
responding to them to provide a great fishing experience. He is willing to
teach and share his knowledge and gave us the perfect amount of hands on
guiding along with just watching us fish when the time was right. He knows
the water, the fish and people, and it made our trip everything we had
anticipated. I would also fish with Sinbad anytime. Thanks again Joe, we
look forward to some big browns next time.

Patrick


top of page

Salmon River

Dear Joe,

John and I can't thank you enough for our October fishing trip with you on the Salmon River. John being fifteen doesn't get that excited anymore, but he told me "This trip was an absolute blast." The chinook, coho, and steelhead we landed were like nothing we have ever seen before except on T.V. We are both looking forward to seeing you next year. Thanks again for a memorable trip.

Testimonial: "This trip was an absolute blast."

From,
Jack & John O'Donnell

Salmon River

Joe,
Thanks for the extremely enjoyable day of fishing. Just wanted to say how
much we appreciate you sharing your experience with us for the entire day,
and making sure we caught some exciting fish. It turned out to be a great
experiece for me and my dad to get away and enjoy fishing together again.
We'll be sure to recomend you to all our friends.

Kevin Bailey

Salmon River

Hi Joe - Thanks again for the great day. The guys and I had a perfect day
on the river, although your jokes are not getting any funnier. I was glad I
caught my grand slam, although not in a single day, really great anyway.

For anyone who reads this, you cannot beat this guy for knowledge and bang
for your buck. He will fish with you from dawn till dusk without a break if
you can handle it.

All the best to you and Sinbad.
Tight Lines...Alex Besterman

Salmon River

Dear Joe,
I want to thank you for guiding my brother-in-law Bob and me during our recent trip to the Salmon river. You certainly did a great job positioning us on the river to catch Kings, Cohos, Steelhead, and brown trout. You were exceptionally patient with our learning curve sprinkled with good humor and "discipline" at the river's edge. Over a short 48 hr. period we perfected casting to these rugged species and learned the principles of fighting large fish with a flyrod. Your perseverance and tenacity coupled with refreshing humor made for a perfect trip. We shall return with a larger crew next year.....so get the troops ready!
Best regards,
Eric Sacknoff

Salmon River

Sorry this took so long, we had a lot to catch up on when we arrived back in the warmer climate.

What a fishing experience! We have never fished in literally a "blizzard". Looking back over the pictures, there were times that we were in a total white out. But with your guidance we quickly overcame natures' wrath and I caught 7 big brown trout in one day. What beauties they were.

Joe caught that rainbow which just shows off on its' own in the photograph. Everyone we show the pictures to exclaim that we are crazy, but then they say "nice FISH"! Joe caught his fill of fish the first day. Joe and I both had a great time and really enjoyed the peaceful serenity of the river, even if it was interrupted many times with a fish on situation.

Sinbad was good company for any break times. Not that there were many opportunities to take breaks, as the fish always seemed to be biting.

Take care, we look forward to fishing again soon and hugs to Sinbad.

Joe and Faye Gowran

Salmon River

Joe,

Thanks so much for the wonderful experience fishing along side you. My son Ian and I had a great 11/2 days of learning and getting into the action with some fine steelhead. Your flies are great particularly the sculpin / muddler that you tie - my favorite at least for that day. Great action on the one with the hint of red in the belly. We both learned more in the time spent with you than in the three years of trial and error on our own. We both felt honored that you would ask us to fish with you and the fact that we had a great experience just enhanced our first trip to the Salmon River this year. We are going up again this weekend Sept 23 -25 and will try your flies again - we both have one remaining.

You had mentioned that you can tie us some flies - I don't know what your schedule is and how that would impact your tying but if you could still do it please tell me how to arrange for payment. Patterns that work - we'll rely on your expertise / Ian had success with the woolly bugger and I with the sculpin but we would like a selection for the fall and one for the winter since we will try this year to come up for steelhead in the winter months. Let me know what patterns you would tie and cost for them for both of us. We probably won't be on the river again until late October or in Nov. - waiting for the arrival of Ian's son.

Again Joe, thank you for the time, generosity and for the great time on the river.

All our best,

Phil Apruzzese

Salmon River

Hi Joe,
Thanks a lot for the two days you spent with my dad and I, we really had a lot of fun. You showed us that there is a big difference between fishing with you and fishing alone. The size of the fish in the river and the way they fought was unbelievable. Thanks a lot for helping me catch my first big fish.

For all those out there thinking about hiring Joe, it's a good idea. He'll take you out to the best spots at the best times and show you how to catch the really big ones. There's nobody else who can teach you as much as he can.

Good luck to you and Sinbad,
Matt Busgang

Salmon River

Hey Joe and Sinbad,

Thanks for a great day of fishing. We'll be back next year with Fly Rods in hand. We continued using Flys with our spin gear and were able to get a few fish to take them!!!! Mike and I each landed one. Look Ma no hands! Nick had a nice steelie on, but we couldn't quite get a net on it. Please send me the pictures of the fish we landed and the group shot!

Looking forward to next year. The testimonial will be sent shortly.


Tight Lines,
Skip(Scottie), Nick and Mike.

Salmon River

Joe,
We had a great time, even if we did not land any to take pictures of for your site. You showed us a new sport for us to enjoy for a lifetime, for that I thank you. Your teachings taught us something new, and for us thats pretty tough. We were wondering about the brown trout run that the old fella from NY(Rodger) was talking about, where and when is that, myself and Derek are wanting to go there this year maybe for a day or two. Drop me a line with the info if you can. Myself and Derek (The DUKE) will give you a ring around October 2006 for another trip.
Thanks, Mike (Not Polish) FIGMIC

Salmon River

Hi Joe,
I am looking into my first fly tying kit and Fly rod thanks to you. (Skip).
I have a Fly fishing buddy that is interested in a Steel Head trip in the spring.
If you have any suggestions as to a good time period we will get back to you for a guided trip. Here's the Skip, Mike and Nick testimonial.....


It all starts with a call. "Be at the diner at 5am". Click! That's it. Welcome to the world of Joe Vivenzio. Be prepared to fish ALL DAY. From Legal sun up to legal sun down. Damn, don't ya love it!!!!! The water levels were UP UP UP, (1000 to 1500 cfs), tough fishing conditions anyway you look at it. The challenge is on! I will admit that Joe took us on an adventure hike through the woods in the dark to get to "the" spot on the river, but, it was worth the effort. Joe had his hands full with three never been fly fishing clods. I'll bet we hooked into over 40 fish on the day! Amazing! We are all converted to Fly Fishing for Salmon from here forward. Along with Joe's expert advice, come Joe's unique humor and his dog Sinbad. Both will keep you amused during the lulls and breaks. Thanks Joe and Sinbad for a great day on Salmon River. We'll be back!!!!

Tight Lines
Nick, Mike and Skip.


top of page

Salmon River

Just a quick note to say we had a really great time fishing on Saturday. I have never seen fish like those - my arms were still aching on Monday. We will definitely have to come back up next year.

Gloria S. Adams

Salmon River

Hey Joe! Thanks again for an awesome trip! We had a great time with you, as always.

We fished with Joe again for our fourth year in a row, and even with tricky water conditions Joe put us on great spots. As usual we were catching fish while others on the river were having problems. I have said it over the years, but this guy is the best at what he does. His passion for the sport and his knowledge of the river make him a real asset to all of his clients. If there is any doubt as to his mastery, just ask him, and he will tell you how great he is.

See you next year.

We love ya Joe! Thanks again, Alex Besterman
>)));>
Stream Reports | Gallery | Testimonials | Book Your Trip | Articles | Books | About Us | Contacts | Links | Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy

River Run Troutfitters | mobile: (518) 527-7104
Copyright 2001. All Rights Reserved.